Waking up: having a hard time.

morning rooster
farm landscape with a morning rooster courtesy of clipartkid

Just a couple of years ago, I used to be able to just wake up when the sun came up. As soon as the first light, i would jump out of bed and start to get ready for school or work. The two years previous before moving to Germany I would get up and workout for about 35 min, take a shower, brush my teeth and be ready to work. Now, its hard to get up and go. The longer I have been here, the harder it is. Most people I know, seems to wake up with an Alarm, i switched to that. I see some have a morning drink, whether it is coffee or Tea. I don’t like the taste and felt i never needed it, it was a crutch. Some suggested a hot shower, maybe that is what i need. I usually prefer at night, but maybe if i get up and workout, and then take a shower like in the past, maybe that is what i need. I just need a new routine. I think i read somewhere, if you stay consistent for 30 days, new routines will stick; if that is the case, then I need to try that. Let see if getting up in the morning is easier. I need to have it done by Monday. Why? work starts again. Summer is over.

Oh, by the way, I am a teacher. As a teacher, even in the summer there seems to always be work, and most teaches use the summer time to prepare and at times catch up. I used to do that. It seems that I spent more time at school during the summer than I did anywhere else, including my home. My family told me that If i kept it up, I would become burned out. My thing was, I had a routine, and I kept it. Maybe now, i am feeling the effects of the burnout even though it happened two years ago. One of the reasons why I wanted to wake up now and get going is because, I could feel my standards, my work ethics slowly slipping away. It wouldn’t have been too much longer and I would have been complaining about my back hurting.

If anyone can give me ideas of how to improve my mornings, please leave a comment and let me know. I love tips, and the excuses stop here. I will try and post about it.

Leave a Reply

