surround yourself with people that can help you grow

Everyone has room to grow, to become a better version of themselves. To go further in life, it is great if we surround ourselves with people that will help us reach goals that, at the moment, may seem out of reach; even if that means abandoning the people closest to you.

I, like many others, always set goals in which to get better. I have set lofty goals so many times, yet to abandon them so quickly. Goals such as getting in shape has been one that I have at many times stated “this is it.” Two years ago, I had made it up in my mind and I stuck with it. At first I stood alone in my task, but eventually when I proved to myself and others that I was in for the long run, others joined in my ranks. I was able to get support from people that I had inspired, but also I sought out others who I could seek some motivation from. The more I surrounded myself with people that had already enjoying the benefits of hard work, the harder it became for me to give in. I couldn’t be the weak link, for I wanted to claim my own standing.

There is something wondrous when you can share your success and progress with others. We are social beings and we embrace the comfort of others. People around us usually cheer us on, encourage us to become better. Help us when we are weak, and brag upon when we are strong.

At moments the greatest people that are threats to us reaching full potential are the very people we hold dear. My uncle always stated that some groups of people, are like crabs in a bucket. Whenever one tries to climb out, they are stopped and pulled down by another. It can be argued that really the second crab is really trying to grab on so it can also escape, but what actually happens is that they both end up remaining trapped. Whether it is through jealousy, or for another reason, friends can hold you back. For they do not share the same feelings about some topics as you., which could lead you and them astray. It doesn’t happen all the time, but it could happen.

Most of the time people do not have ill intentions when they get in your way. The people you are around enjoy the lifestyle that they are living and just do not want to change. And why should they? Whenever you hope to reach a lofty goal, many times that means you have to make some changes from your current state of being, even make sacrifices that your currently would not hold for granted. One example is through my family. We love to eat. The majority of us are a bit overweight. We are a living testament of love going through the stomach. We had so many eating contests, I have lost count; We favored restaurants that had all you can eat buffets, and you always asked for seconds when someone cooked. We ate to celebrate and honor every occasion. As well we ate through all the types of human emotions. I was one of the ones that everyone knew could eat a lot, and I did so with a passion. A sign for others to know if i loved the food, was if I ate multiple portions. Two years ago, I started to change my eating habits. I had gotten too overweight. The people around me though, started to ask me if I was sick, or if the food didn’t taste good, mainly because they were used to my old eating habits. For that was the only thing that had changed.

Mom had it the hardest, for she couldn’t cook the way she normally would. See my biggest problem is that I am addicted to food. If it is in front of me, I would eat it, and I couldn’t stop at a small portion. I learned the best way was to just stay away. Do not sit at the table, or not go into the restaurants. My methods were a bit unorthodox, but it is what i did to get in shape. I had to make changes, but the changes were uncomfortable for others, it happens. After awhile everyone got used to the new me, but it took changes.

Not everyone is ready for the changes, and not everyone is going to be able to adjust. Depending on how and what you do to reach your goals, you have to be willing to embrace change. That could mean not going out as much, that could mean not hanging with the same crowd. That is hard though, because we are social creatures, so the best thing to do is find people that are similar to you. Find people that share the same passion as you. When they have the same passion and desires, you will be able to go further and reach your goals.

Leave a Reply

